Atlanta United signs Irish midfielder Chris McCann

atlanta unitedRelease from Atlanta United:

Atlanta United today announced the signing of 28-year-old midfielder Chris McCann, pending receipt of his P-1 Visa and ITC. McCann joins Atlanta from English Championship club Wigan Athletic.

“We are thrilled Chris has chosen to sign for Atlanta United, he is a player we feel will be very important as we build our roster,” said Atlanta United technical director Carlos Bocanegra. “With over 350 first team appearances and premiership experience, he will bring a valuable veteran presence onto the field and into our locker room.”

McCann, a native of Dublin, Ireland came up through the Home Farm F.C. youth system and represented Ireland as a youth international at the U-17, U-18 and U-19 levels.

McCann moved to England and joined Burnley F.C. in 2005 where he made over 200 appearances and scored 27 goals. Playing under manager Owen Coyle, McCann was a standout performer making 58 appearances with eight goals during the 2008-09 season, helping the Clarets secure a promotion to the Premier League with a victory in the Football League Championship Play-off final.

McCann joined Wigan Athletic on a free transfer in 2013.  Playing once again under Coyle, McCann had 38 appearances and three goals for Wigan in his first year.  He added 18 appearances in the 2014-15 season.

“We see Chris coming in to play a midfield role, but having the capacity to play in defense as well,” said Bocanegra. “He has good versatility, technical ability and can contribute with goals and assists from various positions on the field.”

McCann will go out on loan until he arrives in Atlanta in January.

Atlantic Coast Conference Has 15 Selected to Maxwell Award Preseason Watch List

ACC_Identity_TM_PMS_WBGRelease from the ACC:

The Atlantic Coast Conference had 15 players selected for the Maxwell Award preseason watch list–the most of any conference nationally–the Maxwell Club announced Tuesday. The Maxwell Award is presented annually to the nation’s top collegiate football player.

In all, 90 players were named to the Maxwell Award preseason watch list. Clemson led all ACC teams with three selections in QB Deshaun Watson, RB Wayne Gallman and WR Mike Williams. Watson was one of two 2015 Maxwell Award finalists named to this year’s preseason watch list.

Miami, with QB Brad Kaaya and RB Joe Yearby, and Virginia Tech, with WR Isaiah Ford and RB Travon McMillian, each had two nominees.

Eleven of the 14 ACC schools had at least one player chosen for the Maxwell Award preseason watch list, and 12 ACC schools had at least one player chosen for either the Maxwell or the Chuck Bednarik Defensive Player of the Year preseason watch list, which was also announced Tuesday. A total of 30 ACC players were chosen for both watch lists, with Clemson leading all ACC schools with six selections.

The last player from a current ACC school to win the Maxwell Award was Miami QB Ken Dorsey in 2001. The last ACC player to capture the Maxwell Award was Florida State QB Charlie Ward in 1993.

The ACC Members of the 2016 preseason Maxwell Award preseason watch list are:

Name                                  School                Pos.    Ht.    Wt.       Cl.        Hometown

James Conner                     Pitt                      RB      6-2    240        Jr.-R     Erie, Pa.

Dalvin Cook                        Florida State       RB      5-11  206        Jr.        Miami, Fla.

Matt Dayes                         NC State             RB      5-9    203        Sr.        Weston, Fla.

Isaiah Ford                          Virginia Tech      WR     6-2    190        Jr.        Jacksonville, Fla.

Wayne Gallman                  Clemson             RB      6-1    215        Jr.-R     Loganville, Ga.

Elijah Hood                         North Carolina   RB      6-0    229        Jr.        Charlotte, N.C.

Lamar Jackson                    Louisville            QB      6-3    196        So.       Boynton Beach, Fla.

Brad Kaaya                         Miami                QB      6-4    210        Jr.        Los Angeles, Calif.

Travon McMillian               Virginia Tech      RB      6-0    200        S0.-R    Woodbridge, Va.

Taquan Mizzell                   Virginia              RB      5-10  200        Sr.        Virginia Beach, Va.

Thomas Sirk                        Duke                   QB      6-4    220        Sr.-R    Glen St. Mary, Fla.

Justin Thomas                     Georgia Tech     QB      5-11  185        Sr.-R    Prattville, Ala.

Deshaun Watson                Clemson             QB      6-2    210        Jr.        Gainesville, Ga.

Mike Williams                    Clemson             WR     6-4    220        Jr.-R     Vance, S.C.

Joe Yearby                          Miami                RB      5-9    202        Jr.        Miami, Fla.

Georgia Tech’s Thomas named toMaxwell Award Watch List

Justin Thomas
Georgia Tech football quarterback Justin Thomas
Photo credit: Daniel Shirey / USA Today Sports

Release from Georgia Tech Athletics:

Georgia Tech senior quarterback Justin Thomas (Prattville, Ala./Prattville) is one of 90 student-athletes on the official watch list for the 80th-annual Maxwell Award, the Maxwell Football Club announced on Tuesday.

The Maxwell Award, named in honor of Robert W. “Tiny” Maxwell, has been given to America’s College Player of the Year since 1937.

Entering his third season as Georgia Tech’s starting quarterback, Thomas has totaled 5,003 yards (3,195 passing, 1,808 rushing) and 48 touchdowns (32 passing, 16 rushing) over the course of his three-year career. He has led the Yellow Jackets to 14 victories in his two seasons as a starter and was a second-team all-ACC selection in 2014. He was named MVP of the 2014 Capital One Orange Bowl when he rushed for 121 yards and a career-high three touchdowns in Georgia Tech’s 49-34 triumph over Mississippi State.

Thomas is one of 15 ACC representatives and 33 quarterbacks on the 2016 Maxwell Award watch list. The list will be pared to semifinalists on Oct. 31 and three finalists will be unveiled on Nov. 21. The winner of the 80th-annual Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards show on Dec. 8 and the formal presentation of the award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala on March 10, 2017 in Atlantic City, N.J.