Five ACC Teams Advance to NCAA Men’s Golf Championship

ACC_Identity_TM_PMS_WBGRelease from the ACC:

Five ACC teams advanced to the NCAA Men’s Golf Championship following the final round of regional play on Wednesday. It marks the second straight year that five league teams reached the championship.


Clemson, Florida State, Louisville, Virginia, and Wake Forest will represent the ACC at the NCAA Championship, which will be held May 27-June 1 at Eugene Country Club in Eugene, Oregon.


The ACC Champion Tigers finished in third at the Stillwater Regional to advance to the NCAA Championship for the second straight year. Louisville placed fourth, six strokes behind Clemson, to advance to the championship for the third time in school history and the first since 2008.  The Tigers were led by Stephen Behr’s 6-over 222, which tied for eighth place. The Cardinal tandem of Robin Sciot-Siegrist and Keegan de Lange tied for 10th with a 7-over 223 to lead Louisville.


Virginia advanced in dramatic fashion in the Franklin Regional on Wednesday, as junior Jimmy Stanger birdied the 18th hole to break a tie with Washington and grab the final berth from the 13-team field. Stanger finished tied for sixth with a 9-under 207 to lead the Cavaliers.


Florida State tied with Baylor in fourth with a 6-under 858 at the Kohler Regional to advance to the NCAA Championship. It marks the fifth consecutive NCAA Championship for the Seminoles, its longest streak of reaching the finals since 1976-83. Florida State was led by ACC Player of the Year Hank Lebioda, who was 12th with a 1-under 215, while junior Josh Lee posted a postseason career best 69 on Wednesday to help the Seminoles advance.


The Demon Deacons grabbed the final spot in the Tucson Regional, placing fifth with a 1-under 863 after shooting 6-under in Wednesday’s final round. Wake Forest sat seven strokes out of fifth place at the turn in the third round, before the four scoring golfers played the back nine at 6-under with eight birdies and two eagles to grab the final NCAA berth.


The NCAA Championship will be held May 27-June 1 at the Eugene Country Club. All 30 teams will play the first three rounds on May 27-29 before the field is cut to the top 15 teams for the fourth round on May 30. The top eight teams will compete in match play for the national championship, with quarterfinals and semifinals on May 31 and the final on June 1. Golf Channel will air the tournament live, beginning with the fourth round.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s