ACC Has Five Selected to John Mackey Preseason Watch List

ACC_Identity_TM_PMS_WBGRelease from the ACC:

The Atlantic Coast Conference had five tight ends named to the preseason watch list for the John Mackey Award, which is given annually to the top tight end in the nation.
The total preseason watch list of 46 collegiate tight ends was announced Wednesday by the Friends of John Mackey.

The 2013 Mackey Award winner hailed from the ACC in former Florida State tight end Nick O’Leary. O’Leary was the fourth player from a current ACC school to win the Mackey. He was preceded by Clemson’s Dwayne Allen, the 2011 award-winner; Virginia’s Heath Miller (2004) and Miami’s Kellen Winslow (2003), who earned his honor just prior to the Hurricanes joining the conference.

Additionally, Mackey himself played for a current ACC school at Syracuse (1960-62).

ACC student-athletes on the Mackey Award watch list include Louisville senior Cole Hikutini (Sacramento, Calif.), Virginia Tech redshirt junior Bucky Hodges (Virginia Beach, Va.); Florida State redshirt sophomore Ryan Izzo (Highland Lakes, N.J.); Clemson senior Jordan Leggett (Navarre, Fla.) and Wake Forest redshirt junior Cam Serigne (Ashburn, Va.).

Hodges, Leggett and Serigne are all repeat members from last year’s 2015 Mackey Award preseason watch list.

The award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2016 Mackey recipient will be announced on Dec. 7, and then presented live on Dec. 8 at the Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: